Proposed Railway Stations in Wales

This page provides further details about the proposed railway stations in Wales.


Shrewsbury – Oswestry line

Bow Street

Cardiff Parkway


Located on Ebbw Vale branch line


Swansea Parkway

Railway lines

The following railway lines are also proposed.

Aberdare – Hirwaun

Abertillery – Aberbeeg

Aberystwyth – Carmarthen 

Anglesey Central Railway (Gaerwen-Llangefni-Amlwch)


Bangor-Caernarfon-Afon Wen

Cwm – Pontyclun

Beddau, Talbot Green, Llantrisant, Gwauri Meisgyn

Other railway stations

  • Beddau
  • Bedlinog
  • Brackla
  • Caerleon
  • Carmarthen
  • Carno
  • Coedkernew
  • Lampeter
  • Llandysul
  • Llanfarian
  • Llanilar
  • Llanwern
  • Llanybydder
  • Maesglas
  • Monmouth
  • Nelson
  • Pencader
  • Pontrilas
  • Porthcawl
  • Roath Park (was Albany Road)
  • Rotherwas
  • St Clears
  • St Fagans
  • St Mellons
  • Trawsfynydd
  • Trecynon
  • Tregaron
  • Trelewis
  • Upper Boat
  • Withington


  1. You don’t appear to have made any mention yet of the award of £70000 by the Welsh government to Merthyr Council for a feasibility study of reopening the former branch line to Dowlais Cae Harris.

    1. Hello Philip

      Sorry for the time it has taken for me to respond, I have been outside of the UK. I haven’t seen it mentioned before but following your prompt, I am currently creating a post that covers this topic.

      Thank you for your help.

  2. Surely Mold needs a mention on the list? Railfuture Wales identified that this should be a priority in response to Flintshire County Council’s 2016 Local Development Plan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.