Network Rail submits TWAO for East West Rail

Network Rail has submitted the Transport and Works Act Order required to restore railway services between Oxford, Bedford, Milton Keynes and Aylesbury. The order focuses on a section of railway line between Bletchley and Claydon Junction.

The proposed works will see major improvements to local travel, with the phased introduction of new rail journeys between:

  • Oxford and Milton Keynes, with trains stopping at Oxford Parkway, Bicester, Winslow and Bletchley
  • Oxford and Bedford, with trains stopping at Oxford Parkway, Bicester, Winslow, Bletchley, Woburn Sands and Ridgmont
  • Milton Keynes and Aylesbury, with trains stopping at Bletchley, Winslow and Aylesbury Vale Parkway
  • If successful, construction could begin in 2019.
  • Documents are available on the Network Rail website

    The TWAO process:

    1. Network Rail submits TWAO and publishes and serves notices;

    2. A statutory period to receive representations until 7th September 2018;

    3. the Secretary of State for Transport (SoS) may then decide on one of three options (1. Hold a public inquiry, 2. Hold a hearing, 3. Exchange written representations between relevant parties)

    4. These would be led by an independent inspector who will make recommendations to the SoS

    5. SoS makes a decision whether phase 2 can begin.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.